Army Wife Blundering

My goal is to be like Claudia Joy Holden: Loving mother, supportive wife, successful college student, FRG president. Right now I’m like Roxie LeBlanc: shotgun wedding, living on post, baby-father drama, and I don’t even have a Hump Bar! I am, however, a loving mother,  a college student (success to be determined) and hopefully, come September 5th I’ll be FRG President, too. As for the supportive wife part, I’M TRYING. It’s actually a LOT harder than it sounds.

To love someone so much, we bump heads a lot. Right now, we are in the “Pamela and Chase pre-divorce” stage of our marriage. But I don’t believe in divorce. That sucker is stuck with me forever. He does whatever the heck he wants; apparently, I’m controlling and sometimes emasculating. Those weren’t the exact words he used but that is what I got out of it.  How to be supportive: I have no fricking clue.

How can I support a unit that keeps my husband away from home almost EVERY DAY for 14-18 hours a day? How can I support a husband who would rather play EVEonline than have a conversation with me most times? Don’t get me wrong, I love the Army and I love my husband; sometimes, I just want to kick their butts, though.

So I have recently been called to be the secretary for Relief Society at church, I’m taking 4 or 5 classes with a course-load of 10, I’m going to be the FRG president,  and I’m attempting to keep up with all my surveys because in a week I’ll be in Virginia and I’m going to need some extra spending money.

I’m going to be in Virginia for a month, separated from my husband. On the bright side, I’m going to get to see Jermahl, which is great because Druggie is trying to make it hard for me to talk to him. Unless of course, I pay for a 7-year-old’s cell phone when they have two working phones and 3 computers. They probably won’t let me Skype with him because the house is still filthy and they don’t want me to see it.

Anyway, non sequitur. I feel bad for Judas and Jesse. Judas will be away from his daddy and Jesse won’t have his wife or his kids. L He has this four-day weekend and I want to make it special. Unfortunately, a day and a half of it has been wasted. Claudia Joy would have already done something spectacular for General Holden. I pulled a Roxie and burned the bacon. Even Roland is better at being an Army wife than me.

Maybe I’ll let Jesse play Eveonline the rest of the weekend and Jude and I can watch the 4th season of Army Wives. Jude stops whatever he is doing when it comes on. It makes him do this, though:

He looks like Jesse more and more every day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristiina
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 17:01:45

    That would be really tough to be supportive of a career like that. Hang in there!

    Reply

  2. misssrobin
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 13:39:07

    Learning to be supportive when you want to throw rocks at his head is tough. It will come with time. Try ping pong balls; they don’t hurt as much as rocks.

    In all seriousness, you are doing a tough job. You are doing the best you can — and it is enough. There will always be room to grow because that is what this life is for. There is no “I’ve arrived” moment, just a lot of “I made it through that day” moments.

    Best wishes in your new calling and with everything else you’ve got going on. Make sure you are finding time to do something for yourself. Something to relax. Coloring in a coloring book with crayons helps me — I know, it sounds strange. But it’s good for my soul.

    Happy Sharefest. I hope you have a lovely weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

MARVA SEATON BLOG

Lifestyle, Social Media, News, Commentary, Words of Hope and Inspiration

MARVA'S POEMS

Sharing thoughts and Words of Inspiration

Tackett shenanigans

Random excitement throughout two people's busy work lives.

Armyliving13's Blog

Just a glimpse of me...

poeticjourney251

LETTING GO, AND EMBRACING THE BETTER THINGS GOD HAVE FOR MY POETIC SOUL....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

